So, did I learn anything?


Photo credit: faungg’s photos via Foter.com / CC BY-ND

 

by Blayne Fink–

I have spent the last seventeen years of my life playing the game of soccer for a number of teams across the state of Virginia, with the most recent team being for the Virginia Tech women’s soccer team. While the life of a division one athlete may seem glamorous to outsiders, over the last four years I have faced numerous physical, mental, and emotional battles. However, it wasn’t all that bad, I did manage to pick up a few things along the way and now that my playing days are over I finally have a chance to reflect on the three most valuable lessons I have learned over these past four years.

1.You are a product of your choices, not a victim of your circumstances

Everyone was a superstar in high school, but not everyone can be the superstar in college. In my four years of collegiate soccer I played in a total of five games. Yes, you read that right, five. I was given the tough, and as some might put it, unfortunate, role of being the backup goalkeeper. However, I made the best of the situation every chance that I was given because I was bound and determined to be the best backup there was and even more so, the best teammate there was.

2.The brick walls are there to stop the people who don’t want it badly enough

That brick wall is a road block positioned strategically to keep you from succeeding. The game of soccer has shown me that what separates the good from the great is that innate ability to get over that brick wall. Everyone wants to be great, but you have to be willing to do the work to make that happen.

3.Do it because you love it

There is no greater disservice to oneself than doing a task with half of your effort or half of your heart. If you do not love what you are doing, don’t do it anymore (disregarding taxes and laundry because you have no choice but to do it). Regardless of what it may be, do it with your whole heart, not because it’s the right thing to do, but because it’s the only way to do it.

 

